Who Is Exempt From The Shooting Portion Of The Texas LTC Class ?
Who is exempt from the Texas LTC shooting portion? Well, several people. Texas law makers expanded the list of qualified people that are not required to take the shooting portion of the Texas license to carry class.
If you are active duty military or a veteran and meet one of the requirements below, you can take our online Texas LTC class from anywhere in the United States and receive a Texas license to carry without ever coming to Texas. It also does not matter what State you are a resident of or what States drivers license you have. Texas issues to residents of all 50 States. Others on the exempt list will obviously be Texas residents.
Those listed below only need to complete the online Texas LTC class and will NOT need to complete the shooting portion. Our online LTC class is 4 hours long (State minimum) BUT it can be taken at your own pace. You can take it on any device including your smartphone. Log in and out as many times as you want, your progress will be saved. Enroll in the online class here: Online Texas Class
People Exempt From The Shooting Portion
State Correctional Officers
Those employed by the Texas department of Criminal Justice as correctional officers are automatically exempt from the shooting portion of the class.
Active duty military or veterans that have proof of firearms familiarization training OR shooting scores dated within the past 10 years. It can be on rifle OR handgun. You will not need to provide this to take the class, you will provide this to DPS with your application after you take the online class.
County jailers that have completed firearms training as part of their employment requirement are exempt from the shooting portion of the class.