Texas Concealed Carry Laws
Texas License To Carry Requirements
- You must be 21 years of age or at least 18 if in the military.
- You must have a valid government-issued identification card, such as driver’s license from Texas or another state.
- You must meet all qualifications to purchase a handgun.
- You must take an approved training course from a Texas LTC instructor. The course can also be taken online.
- Certificate of training (LTC101) showing proof that you completed the required course.
- Any other required documents asked for when you apply only. (varies depending on the person’s history).
Note: Non residents must supply a copy of their state issued ID or drivers license, a passport style photo and a LTC6 form.
License To Carry Fee:
The standard fee for the five year license to carry is $40. DPS offers discounts for certain people, you can see discounts here.
Texas DPS has 60 days to issue your LTC although most are issued within three weeks.
Non-Resident License To Carry
Texas will issue a license to carry to non residents. You will need to provide a copy of your state issued ID or drivers license from your state of residency. You can also renew your Texas license to carry online from your home state.
Texas Concealed Carry Reciprocity
The Texas License To Carry allows you to carry in 37 states total. Below is a map that shows all the states you can carry in with the Texas LTC.
Texas License To Carry Laws & Regulations
Shall issue state:
Texas is a shall-issue state. That means they can not turn anyone down for a license to carry. The only way to get denied a Texas license to carry is if you don’t meet the legal requirements such as a criminal record.
Places off Limits:
There are places where carry is prohibited by state law. You can not carry in these places, below are the main “off limit” places.
- Inside a school (k through 12)
- Professional sporting events
- Correctional facilities
- Courts or offices used by the courts
- Polling places during an election
- Racetracks (horse and dog)
Firearms in vehicles:
Texas law does not prohibit a person from having firearms in their vehicle as long as that person can legally own and posses firearms under state and federal law. When traveling out of state without a Texas LTC you must unload your firearm and store it separately from it’s ammunition in your vehicle. It does not have to be stored this way while you are in Texas.
Only those with a Texas LTC can carry on a college campus and in the buildings.
Texas does not have any handgun restrictions. You can carry any type of handgun in any caliber you like. There is also no law limiting how many handgun you can carry on your person.
Texas does not have any magazine restrictions. You can carry any high capacity magazine you want. Be careful when traveling to other states, they may have a magazine capacity law even if they honor the Texas license to carry.
Open & Concealed Carry:
Texas allows both open and concealed carry without a license. Be carful carrying without a license though, Texas permitless carry has a lot of restrictions. You are always better off carrying with a license to carry.