Can 18 Year Olds Carry A Handgun In Texas?
Can 18 year olds carry a handgun in Texas? A federal judge in Texas on Thursday struck down a state law that prohibited most people under 21 from carrying a handgun, ruling that the age limit violated the Second Amendment. We believe there is a good chance that Texas lawmakers will comply with this ruling one way or another but they could file an appeal with the higher court.
What exactly will this mean and when would 18 to 20 year olds be able to carry a handgun in Texas? Well, the judge issued a 30 day stay to allow Texas to file an appeal. The judge also gave Texas several ways they could comply to his ruling.
They could lower the age to 18 and up under Texas permitless carry law OR they could lower the age to get a Texas license to carry to 18 years of age and require those 18 to 20 year olds to get a Texas license to carry.
The judge also gave the options to create additional restrictions for those 18 to 20 years old. So the ruling basically says that Texas must allow 18 to 20 year olds to carry a handgun in some way, shape or form.
Just last year there was a bill filed in the Texas legislature that would allow those 18 and older to carry a handgun in Texas but it had no support. Most republican lawmakers did not support the bill that lowed the age to 18.
Since we know that most of them didn’t support it, what will they do now? If they don’t file an appeal, we think they will require those that are 18 to 20 years of age to get a Texas license to carry before they can carry a handgun.
The Texas legislature is in session this coming January so they may file an appeal so they will have time to pass a new law in this coming legislative session. We will have to wait and see what the new law will be and what option they go with.